Friday, 6 June 2014

How to Customize URL on Google Plus

Here is good news from Google+ users as Google allow its users to customize URL of Google Plus pages. Previously Google does not allow users to customize URL according to their choice. But doing this is few complicated for new users but it a gift to old users from Google.

Before setting up account

Let’s have look at few restriction:

  • User must have at least 10 followers
  • User must fulfil complete profile details including profile picture, academic details and other details
  • Account must be a one month old              
  • Google plus bound user to use”Custom URLs Terms of Use”

According to Google, If users meet their criteria, then user see a button of “Get a custom URL” on top of its Google+ profiles or page, but if users Google+ profile does not contain a button of “Get a custom URL” then there is nothing for worry because as users fulfil Google criteria then user will definitely get a button to "custom its Google+ URL"

Google forward email to its users, informing user is applicable to add a custom URL to its Google+ profile. On clicking that email, users lead to its Google+ profile.

Previous URL

URL After customization

Steps to customization Google+ URL

  • Sign in to "Gmail Account"
  • Look at left most corner, click on "Image" shown
  • Click on "About"
  • On scrolling user receive "links" option click on it
  • Click "Get URL" option. If this option is not shown this means Google does not allow user to custom its account
  • Check the box of “I agree to the Terms of Service” and click “Change URL
  • Now "Enter your URL" and make it unique by adding few letters or alphabet

  1. "Verify your account" using mobile number,
  2. Enter "Mobile number" when prompted
  3. Click "Send Code"
  4. Enter Code sent to your mobile number and click "Verify"
  • URL that user want to link on Google+ profile must be accurate as After Approval of URL users can not change URL, and then click “Confirm choice”.

 By following all this steps User Google+ URL get changed. To verify it, First logout of Google+ profile and again login now user can check the difference.